Fezziet's Blue Room

What will you create today?

Valentine’s Treats (a week late)

on February 19, 2012

So I’m a week late with this.  (I’m still trying to get used to this constant posting thing. LOL)  Anyway, I decided to make cake pops for my co-workers last week for Valentine’s Day.  They were a HUGE hit so I decided to share what I did with everyone.  They are super easy, fun, and YUMMY.

I followed the instructions from Ashley @ Little Miss Momma.  I won’t go through all the steps since she did such a great job of it at her site.  This is just a general overview.  This method requires you to get your hands dirty but it makes much better tasting pops then one of those cake pop pans seen on TV.

Here’s what you need:

  • Red Velvet Box Cake (or whatever flavor you’d like) and the ingredients needed to make the cake or make you a cake from scratch (whichever floats your boat)
  • Frosting (I used chocolate but a lot of people use cream cheese)
  • Candy melts
  • Lollipop sticks
  • Lollipop bags (optional)
  • Sprinkles and other decorations (optional)

Make the box cake according to the directions or make a cake from scratch.  It’s up to you.  I’m super lazy so I took the easier route.  By the way, it doesn’t really matter what type of pan you use.  Just do whatever is fastest.  I actually used a bundt cake pan even though it takes the longest time to bake cakes in because it was the first thing I pulled out of the cabinet.

After you make the cake and let it cool completely, dump it into a bowl.  Wash your hands real good and crumble up the cake.  (Here’s a tip:  If you’re using red velvet cake made from scratch, wear gloves because the dye might dye your hands.)  Add 1/2 to 3/4 can of frosting to your crumbled cake.  I mixed it in with a spoon instead of with my hands.

Now comes the fun part.  Roll about 2 tablespoons of “dough” into balls.  I was able to get 24 balls out of one box cake.  If you make your balls about 1″ in diameter you should be able to get more out of one cake.  I wanted mine to be a little bit bigger since adults were eating them.

Place the balls on wax paper or freezer paper on a cookie sheet.  (Ashley @ Little Miss Momma did not do this next step but it helped me when it came to putting the sticks in the balls and frosting them.)  Next, either put them in the fridge for a couple of hours or do like I did and put them in the freezer for 15-30 minutes.  (Short cuts for when you’re trying to finish things 30 minutes before you need to be gone for work).

After you take the balls out of the fridge or freezer, it’s time to start frosting.  I didn’t take any pictures of these steps. (Did I mention I was trying to get ready for work at the same time?)  Again, please feel free to get all of the steps, with pics, from Ashley @ Little Miss Momma website.

Ok. Back to the cake pops.  Melt your candy melts in the microwave or double boiler.  I tried following the instructions on the package for the microwave but it didn’t go right.  I ended up melting on defrost for several minutes, not just 30-60 seconds as the directions said to do.  After melting, I put a little bit of the candy on the ends of lollipops and stuck them into the center of the balls.  (Give the candy a few seconds to cool before trying to pick up the ball with the stick.  I found out the hard way that the ball will slide right off if you pick it up too soon.)  Dip the cooled balls in the melted candy coating or spoon the melted candy over the balls as I did.  Stand the coated balls by the stick on a piece of styrofoam until cooled and dry.

Ashley decorated her cake pops nicely.  I omitted this step because I was about to be late for my 9am meeting and I really didn’t feel like making them at all.  I put them in decorative bags instead.  Everyone still loved them despite the lack of decorations.  I hope your friends and family enjoy these just as much as my co-workers did.  Happy creating!

One response to “Valentine’s Treats (a week late)

  1. Michelle Gordon says:

    Thanks friend!!! I’m gonna try these!! :^)

Leave a Reply

